A Rough Road

I work in customer service for First Niagara Financial Group. I took a call today from a customer who was unemployed. They had some fees that they wanted to have refunded. Before this past month I would have never refunded them. That all changed quickly for me.

About four months ago I left First Niagara to pursue a new business path in administration. About three months later I was let go from my position. I remember the day like it was yesterday. I called my Dad on my way home nearly in tears. It was incredibly scary for me. I just bought a new car and I was getting ready to sign a lease on a new apartment. The first thing I did was go home and apply for unemployment (I’ll come back to this later.) After that I called my former manager at First Niagara and explained my situation. He told me to reapply. The following Tuesday I received a call for an interview there, and was offered the job the following Wednesday.

At this point I was two weeks out without any pay. I was starting to run low on money, so I withdrew from my 401k. I know I shouldn’t have done this, but you have to do what you have to do. My parents also stepped in to start helping me out more. They paid for my insurance, helped with any credit card bills that I had. They were truly a great help.

I started back up at First Niagara two weeks later. At this point I was going on four weeks with unemployment and have not yet received my first paycheck. My car payment was coming due, bills were falling behind, I truly was at the point of tears most of the time. After my unemployment came in I was truly grateful.

When I spoke with this customer, I felt for her. I was at about six weeks without my unemployment and any form of income. Of course I was more than willing to help them out. They were truly grateful for my assistance and understanding.

Tonight, with me receiving my first official paycheck on Wednesday for two full weeks of pay, it was time to go over my monthly budget, and balance my paycheck. My fiancé and room-mate were both watch a movie. I looked out and I broke down into tears. I was so grateful for all of the help and understanding they gave me. I started to think about my parents who were very helpful. I called my credit card companies and they were more than willing and understanding to help me out during my time of hardship. It just makes me feel so good to know that there are people out there, even complete strangers who are willing to step up to the plate and help another person out.

After telling my story, all I can say is; if you know of someone who is truly in need of help…stepping up to the plate could change their life. I know that with my parents, fiancé, room-mate and all the companies I was working with on payments helping me out, I would have never made it through such a difficult time.

Leave a comment